Cart 0
Wes Montgomery - Classic Recordings: 1960-1962 (4 CDS)

Wes Montgomery - Classic Recordings: 1960-1962 (4 CDS)

$ 17.99 $ 19.99

In 1959 Montgomery was signed to the Riverside Records label, and remained there until late 1963, just before the company went bankrupt. The recordings made during this period are widely considered by fans and jazz historians to be Montgomery's best and most influential. Two sessions in January 1960 yielded the record, The Incredible Jazz Guitar of Wes Montgomery, which was recorded as a quartet with pianist Tommy Flanagan, bassist Percy Heath and drummer Albert "Tootie" Heath. The album featured two of Montgomery's best known compositions, Four on Six" and "West Coast Blues." This album is included on the first volume of this 2 x 4 CD series, The Complete Recordings 1958 1960.

Almost all of Montgomery's output on Riverside featured the guitarist in a small group setting, usually a trio (and always with his organist from his Indianapolis days, Melvin Rhyne), a quartet, or a quintet, playing a mixture of hard-swinging uptempo jazz numbers and quiet ballads. On the morning of June 15, 1968, while at home in Indianapolis, Montgomery awoke and remarked to his wife that he didn't feel well. He soon collapsed, dying of a heart attack within minutes. Only 45 years old at the time, Montgomery had just returned from a tour with his quintet and was at the height of his fame, having attained a degree of popular acceptance that few jazz artists in that era achieved. Montgomery's home town of Indianapolis later named a park in his honor.

Disc: 1
1. Ursula
2. Klactoveedsedstene
3. Don'T Explain
4. West Coast Blues
5. Terrain
6. Compulsion
7. Work Song
8. Pretty Memory
9. I'Ve Got A Crush On You
10. Mean To Me
11. Fallout
12. Sack Of Woe
13. My Heart Stood Still
14. Violets For Your Furs
15. Scrambled Eggs

Disc: 2
1. Back To Back
2. Groove Yard
3. If I Should Lose You
4. Delirium
5. Just For Now
6. Doujie
7. Heart Strings
8. Remember
9. Jeannine
10. Snowfall
11. Angel Eyes
12. Barbados
13. And This Is My Beloved
14. This Love Of Mine
15. On Green Dolphin Street
16. You Don'T Know What Love Is
17. Beaux Arts

Disc: 3
1. Twisted Blues
2. Cotton Tail
3. I Wish I Knew
4. I'M Just A Lucky So And So
5. Repetition
6. Something Like Bags
7. While We'Re Young
8. One For My Baby
9. Love Walked In
10. Love For Sale
11. No Hard Feelings
12. Enchanted
13. Stranger In Paradise
14. The Lamp Is Low
15. Double Deal
16. And Then I Wrote
17. Darn That Dream
18. Lois Ann
19. Mambo In Chimes

Disc: 4
1. S.K.J.
2. Stablemates
3. Stairway To The Stars
4. Blue Roz
5. Sam'S Sack
6. Full House
7. I'Ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face
8. Blue 'N' Boogie
9. Cariba
10. Come Rain Or Come Shine
11. S.O.S.
12. Born To Be Blue


More from this collection