Cart 0

The Rise of the North Italian Violin Concerto Vol. 1: The Dawn of the Virtuoso - La Serenissima

$ 4.00

“These mostly unfamiliar pieces make highly enjoyable listening, especially when played with the natural exuberance that La Serenissima bring to them. Legrenzi's dances are catchy, Navara's fleshed-out trio sonatas show off their lively violinistic style to advantage, and the Albinoni stands revealed as a neatly crafted miniature. Most interesting of all is the Valentini concerto, a rich and expansive 17-minute work full of strength and invention, including a bold five-minute fugue.”

Concerto Op. 2 No. 8 for 2 violins, 2 violas, cello & continuo in G major

3 Balletti e Correnti à 5 from Op 16

Sinfonia/Sonata à 5 in C
Sinfonia/Sonata à 5 in a

Valentini, Giuseppe:
Concerto XI à 6 con quattro violini obligati in a, Op 7

Concerto, Op. 3 No. 3 'Con Violino Solo obligato', RV 310
Concerto, Op. 3 No. 10 'Con quattro Violini e Violoncello obligato', RV 580

Laudate pueri Dominum à voce sola et 5 strumenti, RV Anh 30

Mhairi Lawson (soprano)
La Serenissima, Adrian Chandler (violin and director)