Cart 0
Sibelius: Songs (BIS Complete Sibelius Edition, Volume 7) 5 CD set

Sibelius: Songs (BIS Complete Sibelius Edition, Volume 7) 5 CD set

$ 44.95

This box contains a large number of previously unreleased recordings, as well as many world premières on disc. The 236 page booklet contains all song texts in the original language, with English translations.

Sibelius’s earliest music was instrumental and it wasn’t until he was in his twenties that he turned to the solo song genre. From that time on, however, he wrote songs at regular intervals – more than a hundred in total. They form a substantial part of his output and are treasured highly by admirers of the composer, although only a handful have gained a regular place in the international repertoire.

As Andrew Barnett remarks in his informative liner notes, ‘listening to them in their entirety reveals considerable lightness of touch and many a flash of genuine humour. The finest of them certainly reveal his gift for melody and his acute response to nature imagery, especially when setting poems featuring pantheistic imagery.’

Many of the songs were written for or premièred by leading Finnish singers. It is a fine cast of Finnish singers who perform their compatriot’s music on this collection, which also includes the highly acclaimed recordings by the Swedish mezzo Anne Sofie von Otter of some of the best-known songs, including Black Roses, The Diamond on the March Snow and But My Bird is Long in Homing. As for the accompaniments, the lion’s share is in the hands of Folke Gräsbeck, an undisputed authority on Sibelius’s piano scores and a key contributor to this edition.

Laulu ristilukista Op. 27 No. 4
Souda, souda, sinisorsa (Swim, duck, swim) (A.V. Forsman-Koskimies)
Andantino in E flat minor [Säv, säv, susa / Sigh, Sigh, Sedges], JS42
Five Songs, Op. 37
Six Songs, Op. 36
Jag ville, jag vore i Indialand (I wish I were in India)
Five Songs, Op. 38
Les Trois Soeurs aveugles (The Three Blind Sisters), Op. 46 No. 4 (M. Maeterlinck)
Six Songs, Op. 50
2 Songs, Op. 35
Vänskapens blomma
Eight Songs, Op. 57 (Text: Ernst Josephson)
2 Songs from Shakespeare's 'Twelfth Night', Op. 60
8 Laulut, Op. 61
Arioso, Op. 3 (Text: J.L. Runeberg)
Five Christmas Songs, Op. 1
Luonnotar, Op. 70 (Text: Kalevala)
Six Songs, Op. 72 (Songs Nos. I & II are lost)
Six Songs, Op. 86
Six Songs, Op. 88 'Flower Songs'
Six Songs, Op. 90
Kullervon valitus from Op. 7
Mummon syntymäpäivänä
Autrefois (Scène pastorale pour orchestre), Op. 96b
Små flickorna (Text: Hjalmar Procopé)
Narciss (Narcissus) (B. Gripenberg)
Siltavahti [The Guardian of the Bridge], JS170b
Den judiska flickans sång (from Belshazzar's Feast, Op. 51)
Hymn to Thaïs (Text: Arthur H. Borgström)
1. Serenad, JS167 2'48
2. Medan nordanvinden gnyr [While the North Wind Roars] 1'11
3. Näcken, JS138 3'19
4. Då världar ännu skapade ej voro [When Worlds Still Uncreated Were], JS56 2'23
5. En visa [A Song], JS71 1'25
6. Solen slog himlen röd… [The Sun Reddened the Sky…], 1888, fragment 1'34
7. Orgier [Orgies], JS143 2'17
8. Skogsrået [The Wood-Nymph], JS171 6'40
9. Höstkväll [Autumn Evening], 1888–89, fragment 2'22
10. Flickan gick en vintermorgon [The Maiden Went One Winter Morning], 1890–92, fragment 0'45
11. Jag kysser dig [och ledsnar] ej [I Kiss You and Weary Not], 1889–91 0'54
12. Löjet var utan hem [Wit Was Without a Home], 1890–91 2'25
13. Likhet [Alikeness], JS120 1'40
14. Den första kyssen [The First Kiss], JS57 2'08
15. Tule, tule kultani [Come, Come, My Sweetheart] (folk-song arrangement), JS211 1'14
Seven Runeberg Songs, Op.13
16. 1. Under strandens granar [Under the Fir-Trees] 5'24
17. 2. Kyssens hopp [The Kiss’s Hope] 2'10
18. 3. Hjärtats morgon [The Heart’s Morning] 2'27
19. 4. Våren flyktar hastigt [Spring Flies Speedily] 1'33
20. 5. Drömmen [The Dream] 1'43
21. 6. Till Frigga [To Frigga] 3'59
22. 7. Jägargossen [The Young Huntsman] 2'44
Seven Songs, Op.17
23. 1. Se’n har jag ej frågat mera [Since Then I Have Questioned No Further] 2'14
24. 2. Sov in! [Go to Sleep!] 1'41
25. 3. Fågellek [Play of the Birds] 1'32
26. 4. Vilse [Astray] 0'52
27. 5. En slända [A Dragonfly] 4'22
28. 6. Illalle [To Evening] 1'15
29. 7. Lastu lainehilla [Driftwood] 1'06
30. Koskenlaskijan morsiamet [The Rapids-Rider’s Brides], Op.33
1. Serenad, JS167 (preliminary version, 1887) 2'53
Seven Runeberg Songs, Op.13 (preliminary versions)
2. 2. Kyssens hopp [The Kiss’s Hope], 1892 2'21
3. 3. Hjärtats morgon [The Heart’s Morning], 1890 2'25
4. 5. Drömmen [The Dream], 1891 2'02
5. Kullervos Wehruf [Kullervo’s Lament], from Op.7 (first version 1892, rev. 1892–93) 2'12
Seven Songs, Op.17 (early draft copies)
6. 1. Se’n har jag ej frågat mera [Since Then I Have Questioned No Further], 1890–92 2'37
7. 6. Illalle [To Evening], 1898 1'50
8. Soluppgång [Sunrise], JS87 (preliminary version 1902) 2'14
9. Judeflickans sång [The Jewish Girl’s Song], JS48 No.2b [Op.51 No.2] (first version 1906, rev. c.1907) 2'51
10. Hundra vägar [A Hundred Ways], Op.72 No.6 (preliminary version 1907) 2'13
11. Teodora, Op.35 No.2 (preliminary version 1908) 4'39
12. Hymn to Thaïs, the Unforgettable, JS97 (first version 1909) 2'06
Two Songs from ‘Twelfth Night’, Op.60 (Original versions for voice and guitar)
13. 1. Kom nu hit, död! [Come Away, Death!] 3'12
14. 2. Hållilå, uti storm och i regn [Hey, ho, the Wind and the Rain] 2'07
15. Dolce far niente, Op.61 No.6 (preliminary version 1910) 1'43
16. On hanget korkeat, nietokset [High are the Snowdrifts], Op.1 No.5 (1901, rev. 1903–05) 2'07
17. Pastorale, extract from ‘Autrefois’, Op.96b, 1919–20 2'45

Artists include Helena Juntunen (soprano), Anne Sofie von Otter and Monica Groop (mezzo-soprano), Dan Karlström (tenor), Gabriel Suovanen and Jorma Hynninen (baritone), Folke Gräsbeck, Bengt Forsberg and Love Derwinger (piano), Jaakko Kuusisto (violin) & Marko Ylönen and Joel Laakso (cello)