Cart 0

Rachmaninov: Piano Concertos 1 & 3, 2 Preludes - Byron Janis, Moscow Philharmonic, London Symphony, Kyrill Kondrashin, Antal Dorati

$ 5.99 $ 9.99

Sergei Rachmaninov: Piano Concertos 1 & 3 Preludes in E flat major Op23/6; in C sharp minor Op3/2

Byron Janis
Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra
Kyrill Kondrashin
London Symphony Orchestra
Antal Dorati

Catalogue Number: ALC 1239
Number of Discs: 1
Date/Runtime: Time: 71:03 stereo,1961/2

(No.1) “On the occasion of the first Western-engineered recordings made in the USSR, soloist and orchestra plainly challenged each other to the limit and (the producers) brilliantly captured the warmly romantic and chimerical interpretation which resulted. Solo playing…scintillating..” (No.3) “the simple opening benefits from the extra warmth, and Janis lets the theme unwind with appealing spontaneity, and in the great closing climax to the finale, the passion is built up – not too hurriedly- to the greatest possible tension….two favourite Preludes most persuasively played.” (Penguin Guide 3 stars)

Piano Concerto No.1 in F sharp minor, Op.1[1] Vivace – Moderato 11:56;[2] Andante 5:34;[3] Allegro vivace 7:10;

Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op.30[4] Allegro ma non tanto 14:56;[5] Intermezzo: Adagio 10:15;[6] Finale: Alla breve 12:50;[7]

Prelude in E flat major, Op.23 No.6 2:51;

[8] Prelude in C sharp minor, Op.3 No.2 3:49

More from this collection