Cart 0
Paul Desmond - Complete Albums Collection: 1953-1963 (4 CDS)

Paul Desmond - Complete Albums Collection: 1953-1963 (4 CDS)

$ 24.99 $ 26.99
Buy 2 or more and save an extra 10% - and remember if your purchase if over $40, you'll save an extra 25%!

Best known as a member of Dave Brubeck's legendary quartet and the man who wrote the biggest-selling jazz single ever, 'Take Five', Paul Desmond's importance as a jazz performer cannot be underestimated. A master of the alto saxophone as well as a consummate composer and musician, Desmond was a pivotal figure on the West Coast cool jazz scene. His time with Brubeck produced some of the most critically-acclaimed recordings in history, in particular the magnificent Time Out (Columbia, 1959). However, Desmond was also an accomplished bandleader in his own right, with the material released during the early part of his career remaining among his finest work. Paul Desmond remained active throughout the rest of his career, producing a multitude of albums and performing live with Dave Brubeck, Chet Baker, Gerry Mulligan, Jim Hall, Ed Bickert and The Modern Jazz Quartet among others. Sadly, his career was cut short, following a diagnosis of terminal lung cancer in the mid '70s. He gave his final performance in New York in February 1977, and passed away on 30th May that year at the age of 52. One of his final studio appearances was on Art Garfunkel's Watermark album. This collection brings together the entirety of Paul Desmond's output as leader or co-leader between 1953 and 1963, a catalogue totaling more than five hours of music, presented here across four discs. Collating nine original albums, this set serves as the perfect introduction to this master musician and composer, as well as providing a welcome reminder to those already versed in the great man's work.

Disc: 1
1. Over The Rainbow
2. You Go To My Head
3. Give A Little Whistle
4. Lady Be Good
5. Tea For Two
6. At A Perfume Counter
7. Stardust
8. Crazy Chris
9. A Garden In the Rain
10. Soon
11. Winky
12. Will I Know
13. Jeruvian
14. Baroque
15. But Happy
16. Misty Window
17. Warm Cradle

Disc: 2
1. Jazzabelle
2. A Watchman's Carroll
3. Everything Happens To Me
4. Let's Get Away From It All
5. Look For The Silver Lining
6. Sacre Blues
7. You Go To My Head
8. Line For Lyons
9. Blues In Time
10. Body And Soul
11. Standstill
12. Line For Lyons
13. Wintersong
14. Battle Hymn Of The Republican
15. Fall Out

Disc: 3
1. I Get A Kick Out Of You
2. For All We Know
3. Two Degrees East, Three Degrees West
4. Greensleeves
5. You Go To My Head
6. East Of The Sun
7. Time After Time
8. My Funny Valentine
9. Desmond Blue
10. Then I'll Be Tired Of You
11. I've Got You Under My Skin
12. Late Lament
13. I Should Care
14. Like Someone In Love
15. Ill Wind
16. Body And Soul

Disc: 4
1. All The Things You Are
2. Starsut
3. Two Of A Mind
4. Blight Of The Fumble Bee
5. The Way You Look Tonight
6. Out Of Nowhere
7. Take Ten
8. El Prince
9. Alone Together
10. Embarcadero
11. The Theme From "Black Orpheus"
12. Nancy
13. Samba De Orfeo

14. The One I Love Belongs To Somebody Else




More from this collection