Cart 0

Mozart: Symphonies No. 1, K.19a, 4, 5, 6,55, & 7 - Mackerras, Scottish National Orchestra

$ 4.00

The numbering of Mozart's symphonies is cause for some confusion. Everything after his last symphony, known as No. 41, is actually very early and belongs with his very first efforts in the medium, composed at the ripe old age of around eight. Actually, no one really knows how much of this music was the work of the young Mozart, and how much was the result of his father's help. It really doesn't matter. These fresh and lively performances make the issue irrelevant. --David Hurwitz, ClassicsToday

Symphony No. 1 in E flat major, K16
Symphony No. 4 in D major, K19
Symphony in F major, KAnh. 223 (K19a)
Symphony No. 5 in B flat major, K22
Symphony No. 6 in F major, K43
Symphony No. 55 in B flat, KApp.214
Symphony No. 7 in D major, K45

Prague Chamber Orchestra, Charles Mackerras