Cart 0

Liszt: Via Crucis; Missa Choralis - BBC Northern Singers

$ 5.99 $ 12.99

Liszt – Via Crucis / Missa Choralis

BBC Northen Singers
Francis Jackson (organ)
Gordon Thorne

Catalogue Number: ALC 1154
Number of Discs: 1
Date/Runtime: 68:04, ADD stereo

“These two remarkable works were originally issued on two separate records, when they were a pioneering enterprise on Saga’s behalf. Via Crucis is one of Liszt’s most extraordinary compositions, laconic, inward, searching and uncompromising. It makes its gestures succinctly, never developing anything, moving forward swiftly yet with a sense of complete timelessness. Some of the harmony is far ahead of anything achieved even by Wagner (who acknowledged his harmonic indebtedness to Liszt). The Missa Choralis is a smoother, more appealing work, if not so fiercely original…Both works should be more widely known. Gordon Thorne directs a beautiful, idiomatic pair of performances, and there is some penetrating organ playing from Francis Jackson” (Gramophone)

The Fourteen Stations of the Cross for Mixed Choir, Soloists and Organ [1] Introduction, Jesus is condemned to death 4:44 [2] Jesus beats his Cross 2:06 [3] Jesus falls for the first time 1:22 [4] Jesus meets his Blessed Mother 1:56 [5] Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus 2:52 [6] St. Veronica wipes Jesus’ feet with her veil 2:41 [7] Jesus falls for the second time 1:28 [8] The women of Jerusalem weep for Jesus 2:05 [9] Jesus falls for the third time 1:23 [10] Jesus is stripped of His clothing 1:37 [11] Jesus is nailed to the Cross 0:53 [12] Jesus lies on the Cross 6:14 [13] Jesus is taken down from the Cross 3:59 [14] Jesus is Laid in the tomb 5:00 Missa Choralis [15] Kyrie 7:43 [16] Gloria 4:02 [17] Credo 5:32 [18] Sanctus 1:49 [19] Benedictus 4:47 [20] Agnus Dei 5:43

More from this collection