Cart 0
John Coltrane - Classic Collaborations 1957-1963 (4 CDS)

John Coltrane - Classic Collaborations 1957-1963 (4 CDS)

$ 13.99 $ 14.99
Buy 2 or more and save an extra 10% - and remember if your purchase if over $40, you'll save an extra 25%!

Coltrane recorded his finest work as a collaborator, and this collection features the best of these recordings. This began with the saxophonist appearing alongside pianist Tadd Dameron on Mating Call (Prestige, 1957), which also saw him reunited with Philly Joe Jones, along with bassist John Simmons. In addition, he would join forces with other Miles Davis alumni on John Coltrane With The Red Garland Trio (Prestige, 1959) - which included appearances from Paul Chambers and drummer Art Taylor - while the same year saw the release of his only pairing with fellow saxophonist Paul Quinichette on Cattin' With Coltrane And Quinichette (Prestige) in a group that showcased too the talents of Julian Euell on bass, Ed Thigpen on drums and Mal Waldron on piano. Bags And Trane (Atlantic, 1961). 1961 also saw the release of Thelonious Monk And John Coltrane (Jazzland). The record also featured Art Blakey, Coleman Hawkins, Gigi Gryce and Wilbur Ware in a meeting of such prestige that the album would be inducted into the Grammy Award Hall Of Fame in 2007. In 1962 Trane moved away a move away from his more traditional line ups for, Kenny Burrell And John Coltrane (New Jazz) a record which blended his saxophone with Burrell's guitar, alongside Paul Chambers' double bass, Tommy Flanagan's piano and Jimmy Cobb's drums. Fittingly, Coltrane concluded this era with: 1963's Impulse! Release, John Coltrane And Johnny Hartman - supported by Coltrane's regular group of pianist McCoy Tyner, bassist Jimmy Garrison and drummer Elvin Jones - and Duke Ellington And John Coltrane (Impulse!), backed again by Tyner, Jones, bassist Aaron Bell and drummer Sam Woodyard. This collection, spanning almost five hours of music across four discs, brings together the very finest albums John Coltrane recorded in collaboration with other jazz greats, including eight complete, original records, remastered to this highest possible standard.

- Disc 1 -
1 Mating Call
2 Gnid
3 Soultrane
4 On a Misty Night
5 Romas
6 Super Jet
7 Cattin'
8 Sunday
9 Exactly Like You
10 Anatomy
11 Vodka
- Disc 2 -
1 Traneing in
2 Slow Dance
3 Bass Blues
4 You Leave Me Breathless
5 Soft Lights and Sweet Music
6 Bags and Trane
7 Three Little Words
8 The Night We Called It a Day
9 Be-Bop
10 The Late Late Blues
- Disc 3 -
1 Ruby, My Dear
2 Trinkle, Tinkle
3 Off Minor
4 Nutty
5 Epistrophy
6 Functional
7 Freight Trane
8 I Never Knew
9 Lyresto
10 Why Was I Born
11 Big Paul
- Disc 4 -
1 They Say It's Wonderful
2 Dedicated to You
3 My One and Only Love
4 Lush Life
5 You Are Too Beautiful
6 Autumn Serenade
7 In a Sentimental Mood
8 Take the Coltrane
9 Big Nick
10 Stevie
11 My Little Brown Book
12 Angelica
13 The Feeling of Jazz

More from this collection