Cart 0

Schubert: Works for Solo Piano, Volume 2 - Barry Douglas

$ 14.99 $ 18.99

Schubert: Works for Solo Piano Vol. 2

Schubert: Impromptu in A flat major, D899 No. 4
Schubert: Impromptu in C minor, D899 No. 1
Schubert: Impromptu in E flat major, D899 No. 2
Schubert: Impromptu in G flat major, D899 No. 3
Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 20 in A major, D959

Barry Douglas (piano)

His Brahms series being now complete in six volumes and widely praised, Barry Douglas continues his exploration of Schubert’s piano music. The romantic, personal outlook developed in the course of the Brahms survey is fully expressed in this new Schubert volume: deeply characteristic works written in the nostalgic, yet prolific last years of the composer’s short life.

Throughout, Barry Douglas probes the romantic aspirations of Schubert’s writing, whether in the intimate melodies and contrasts of the impromptus, or in the monumental Sonata in A, the extraordinary range and technical challenges of which call for the virtuosity of the interpreter while plunging the listener into the illness, pain, and hope of the composer’s final years.

Celebrating the thirtieth anniversary in 2016 of his winning the Tchaikovsky competition, Barry Douglas continues touring the most prestigious venues around the world (Philharmonie de Paris, Ulster Hall, St Petersburg Hall, among others) and regularly appearing in renowned festivals in Europe (Clandeboye, Verbier, La Roque-d’Anthéron, etc.).


More from this collection