Save 25% On Every Order Over $40!
Cart 0


$ 15.82 $ 17.98

‘Cantata Memoria’ commemorates through new music the Aberfan tragedy of 21 October 1966, when 116 children and 28 adults tragically lost their lives as a coal tip enveloped Plant Glas school, together with some houses, in Aberfan, South Wales.

This large-scale choral work – in English, Welsh and Latin – has been commissioned by S4C, the Welsh language TV channel, to mark the 50th anniversary of what has become known to subsequent generations – both in the UK and around the world – as the Aberfan Disaster.

The work will be premiered – with the exact-same cast as on the record – at the official Aberfan Charitable Trust Memorial Concert, to be held at the Wales Millennium Centre, on 8 October 2016.

The first half features music by Karl Jenkins and others, and words/poetry read by actress Sian Phillips and actor Michael Sheen, whilst the second half will premiere ‘Cantata Memoria’.

Jenkins, K: Cantata Memoria
For the Children
01 Pitran, patran
02 Then silence
03 Cortège
04 Lament for the Valley
05 Lacrimosa Lullaby
06 Did I hear a bird?
07 Satin Feathers
08 And-a-Half
09 And once upon a time
10 When the shadow dies
11 Lux æterna