Save 25% On Every Order Over $40!
Cart 0

Bach: Lutheran Masses, Vol. 1 - The Sixteen, Harry Christophers

$ 16.14 $ 18.99

Bach was a Lutheran church musician devoted to the composition of sacred music in German. He wrote more than 200 cantatas for the liturgy, most of them in Leipzig. Despite their name, the four Lutheran Masses feature almost no Lutheran material. Sometimes called ‘Missa brevis’, musically they are almost entirely made up of movements borrowed from Bach’s Cantatas but, while they are often overshadowed by the more famous Mass in B minor, the beauty of these short Masses is that they represent Bach’s own choice of his finest Cantata movements. Despite their exquisite beauty, featuring splendid choruses and deeply moving arias, there are relatively few recordings of the Lutheran Masses. On this new collection just eight singers from The Sixteen perform the Masses allowing the beauty of the virtuosic vocal lines to be heard with absolute clarity.

the freshness, agility and precision of the performances, animated by Christophers's buoyant direction, are a constant pleasure.”

Bach, J S:
Mass in G minor, BWV235
Cantata BWV102 'Herr, deine Augen sehen nach dem Glauben'
Mass in F major, BWV233

The Sixteen, Harry Christophers