Cart 0

Bach: 1714 Silbermann Organ of Freiburg Cathedral - David Goode

$ 14.43 $ 17.99

JS Bach: 1714 Silbermann Organ of Freiberg Cathedral

David Goode (organ)

It is obvious from the very opening of the Toccata, Adagio and Fugue that we are in the presence of a truly magnificent organ and an organist who has a real flair for interpreting Bach...Goode plays it all with the kind of all-encompassing virtuosity - hands, feet, registration and intellect - which is unique to the organ...far from being an excuse to hear Bach on a great historic organ, we hear Bach played with perception and real musical intelligence.

David Goode performs a grand selection of some of Bach’s best organ works – including the famed Passacaglia and Fugue in C minor – providing modern listeners with a unique chance to hear Bach’s music as congregations of that period may have done.

The Gottfried Silbermann organ of Freiberg cathedral is one of a handful of such 18th-century instruments (built during Bach’s lifetime) to have remained largely unmodified to this day. Bach’s work as an organ inspector shows that he tested and inaugurated a number of Silbermann’s organs in Germany and, although there is no record that he played this instrument, its sound is undoubtedly one that Bach would have recognised and composed for.

Bach, J S: Chorale Prelude BWV622 'O Mensch, bewein' dein' Sünde groß'
Bach, J S: Chorale Prelude BWV654 'Schmücke dich, o liebe Seele'
Bach, J S: Chorale Prelude BWV682 'Vater unser im Himmelreich'
Bach, J S: Organ Concerto in A minor (after Vivaldi), BWV593
Bach, J S: Passacaglia & Fugue in C minor, BWV582
Bach, J S: Prelude & Fugue in B minor, BWV544
Bach, J S: Prelude & Fugue in G major, BWV541
Bach, J S: Toccata, Adagio & Fugue in C major, BWV564


More from this collection